Hand & Wrist

The hand and wrist are made up of many different bones, muscles and ligaments that enable a wide range of movements to perform many functional capabilities.

Your wrist is made up of eight small bones known as the carpal bones. These bones support and give your wrist flexibility, and connect your hand to the two long bones in your forearm known as the radius and the ulna.

The eight carpal bones can be grouped into 2 groups: the upper and lower area of the wrist

  • Upper area (closer to the wrist): Pisiform, Triquetrum, Scaphoid and Lunate
  • Lower area (closer to the hand): Trapezium, Trapezoid, Capitate and Hamate

Each finger consists of a metacarpal bone and 3 phalanges, while each thumb consists of one metacarpal bone and two phalanges.