Lower Leg

The lower limb is separated into three parts, just as the upper limb. The part of the lower limb between the hip and knee joint is known as the thigh. The area of the leg that lies between the knee and ankle joints is known as the leg. Distal to the ankle is the foot.  There are 30 bones in the lower leg. These include the tarsal bones, metatarsal bones, phalanges, femur, patella, tibia, and fibula.